LinkedIn Integrates with MS Outlook, still not as good as Rapportive

from this week's announcement about LI integration with MS Outlook
Today, we’re really excited to share that the Outlook Social Connector for the next release of Office will no longer require an additional download to sync with LinkedIn. This means you just have to sign-in once with your LinkedIn credentials and immediately you’ll start seeing rich profile information, like photos and LinkedIn network activity for any connection that emails you. You’ll also see LinkedIn profile data surface when you view a People Card throughout the new Office experience.
via blog.linkedin.com (click for full announcement)

Back when I still used Outlook, I liked the Xobni plugin that did what it sounds like LinkedIn will do natively (woo hoo, saved myself an install!) in "the new MS office."

I think most people on Outlook tend to be corporate types, and outside the sales department, might not get a ton of value out of this feature beyond novelty ("hey, I never knew our CEO worked his way through HBS as an exotic dancer").

For freelance nation folks, I still recommend GMail with the Rapportive addon: